Calendar

The Gauteng Model Boat Club meets at Emmarentia Dam, Johannesburg, near the parking area for the Johannesburg Botanical Gardens. Occasionally the sailors meet at other venues and this is announced to members on the GMBC WhatsApp group.

The second Saturday and last Sunday of every month are the primary club days where all members and all boats (sail, scale and electric power) are welcome on the water. At these meetings no one class of boats has right of way over another, but Club 500 speedboats are encouraged to run towards the end of the day.

On the first Sunday of every month a regatta is held for the GMBC IOM Sailing Championships at the Rusty Hook restaurant in Wilge Rd, Honeydew. Racing usually starts at 11h00.

On the third Saturday of every month there will be sailing races to allow skippers to tune up for the Championship regatta on the Sunday. On the third Sunday of every month a regatta is held for the GMBC SeaWind Sailing Championships. Racing usually starts at 11h00.

Apart from the last Sunday every month, which is Open Day, every other Sunday is reserved for sailboat racing which normally starts at 11h00. 

There is also 'Whacky Wednesday' casual sailboat racing each Wednesday afternoon at Emmarentia Dam.

All fixtures take place at Emmarentia Dam unless otherwise stated.

  Gauteng Model Boat Club Calendar - 2019
Date Meeting
Sat, 17 Aug  Sailing tune-up races
IOM KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Championships at Midmar (Provisional)*
Sun, 18 Aug  GMBC SeaWind Sailing Championship - Round 8
IOM KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Championships at Midmar (Provisional)*
Sat, 24 Aug   
Sun, 25 Aug  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Interclub sailboat racing for all classes at NRSC Wemmer Pan.*
Sat, 31 Aug   
Sun, 1 Sep  GMBC IOM Sailing Championship - Round 4 at Rusty Hook.
All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 7 Sep  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 8 Sep  Sailboat racing
Sat, 14 Sep  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 15 Sep  GMBC SeaWind Sailing Championship - Round 9
Sat, 21 Sep  Centurion Model Engineering Fair - Kwikkie Crescent, Centurion.*
Sun, 22 Sep  Centurion Model Engineering Fair - Kwikkie Crescent, Centurion.*
Tue, 24 Sep  Heritage Day
Sat, 28 Sep  IOM Gauteng Provincial Championships at Wemmer Pan (to be confirmed) *
Sun, 29 Sep  IOM Gauteng Provincial Championships at Wemmer Pan (to be confirmed) *
Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Fri, 4 Oct IOM National Championships. Event moved to November. See below.
Sat, 5 Oct  IOM National Championships. Event moved to November. See below.
Sun, 6 Oct  GMBC IOM Sailing Championship - Round 5 at Rusty Hook
All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 12 Oct  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 13 Oct  Sailboat racing.
IOM Provincial Championships at NRSC Wemmer Pan *
Sat, 19 Oct  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 20 Oct  GMBC SeaWind Sailing Championship - Round 10
Sat, 26 Oct   
Sun, 27 Oct  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Interclub sailboat racing for all classes at NRSC Centurion *
Sat, 2 Nov   
Sun, 3 Nov  NRSC Invitation Event - two one-hour endurance races.
Sat, 9 Nov  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 10 Nov  GMBC SeaWind Sailing Championship - Round 11 - Final  
Fri, 15 Nov IOM National Championships at Midmar, Howick *
Sat, 16 Nov  IOM National Championships at Midmar, Howick *
Sun, 17 Nov IOM National Championships at Midmar, Howick *
Sat, 23 Nov   
Sun, 24 Nov  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 30 Nov   
Sun, 1 Dec  GMBC IOM Sailing Championship - Round 6 at Rusty Hook - Final
All categories at Emmarentia. 
Sat, 7 Dec   
Sun, 8 Dec   
Sat, 14 Dec  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 15 Dec  Sailboat racing
Mon, 16 Dec  Day of Reconciliation
Sat, 21 Dec   
Sun, 22 Dec   
Sat, 25 Dec  Christmas Day
Thu, 26 Dec  Boxing Day
Sat, 28 Dec   
Sun, 29 Dec   
Wed, 1 Jan '20 New Year's Day
  * = This event is not organised by GMBC.

 

Home | Latest News | About Us | Join GMBC | Calendar | Gallery | Members' Boats | Sail Boat Racing
Model Boats for Sale | Our Origins | Hints & Tips | Membership Application | Links | Special Thanks | Contact Us

All images on this site are copyrighted by their respective authors who retain their intellectual property rights in full. You are not permitted to copy, store, publish or use in any manner, for any purpose whatsoever, via any medium, any picture displayed on this web site.