Calendar

The Gauteng Model Boat Club meets at Emmarentia Dam, Johannesburg, near the parking area for the Johannesburg Botanical Gardens. Occasionally the sailors meet at other venues and this is announced on the GMBC WhatsApp group.

The second Saturday and last Sunday of every month are the primary club days where all members and all boats (sail, scale and electric power) are welcome on the water. At these meetings no one class of boats has right of way over another, but Club 500 speedboats are encouraged to run towards the end of the day.

On the third Saturday of every month there will be sailing races to allow skippers to tune up for the Championship regatta on the Sunday. On the third Sunday of every month a regatta is held for the GMBC Sailing Championships.

Apart from the last Sunday every month, which is Open Day, every other Sunday is reserved for sailboat racing. 

On the first Sunday of every month the sailors are invited to race at the Rusty Hook restaurant in Wilge Rd, Honeydew. 

There is also 'Whacky Wednesday' casual sailboat racing each Wednesday afternoon.

Gauteng Model Boat Club Calendar - 2018
Date Meeting
Sat 21 July Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 22 July Sailboat racing
Sun 29 July Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat 04 August Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 05 August Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Thu 09 August Womens' Day
Sat 11 August Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 12 August Sailboat racing
Sat 18 August Sailing tune-up races
Sun 19 August GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 8
Sun 26 August Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat 01 September Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 02 September  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat 08 September Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 09 September  Sailboat racing
Sat 15 September Sailing tune-up races
Sun 16 September GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 9
Mon 24 September Heritage Day
Sun 30 September Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat 06 October Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 07 October Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat 13 October Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 14 October Sailboat racing
Sat 20 October Sailing tune-up races
Sun 21 October GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 10
Sun 28 October Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat 03 November Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 04 November Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat 10 November Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 11 November Sailboat racing
Sat 17 November Sailing tune-up races
Sun 18 November GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 11 (Final)
Sun 25 November Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat 01 December Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 02 December Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat 08 December Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 09 December Sailboat racing
Sat 15 December Sailing tune-up races
Mon 17 December Public Holiday (Day of Reconciliation)
Tue 25 December Christmas Day
Wed 26 December Boxing Day

 

Home | Latest News | About Us | Join GMBC | Calendar | Gallery | Members' Boats | Sail Boat Racing
Model Boats for Sale | Our Origins | Hints & Tips | Membership Application | Links | Special Thanks | Contact Us

All images on this site are copyrighted by their respective authors who retain their intellectual property rights in full. You are not permitted to copy, store, publish or use in any manner, for any purpose whatsoever, via any medium, any picture displayed on this web site.