Calendar

The Gauteng Model Boat Club meets at Emmarentia Dam, Johannesburg, near the parking area for the Johannesburg Botanical Gardens. Occasionally the sailors meet at other venues and this is announced on the GMBC WhatsApp group.

The second Saturday and last Sunday of every month are the primary club days where all members and all boats (sail, scale and electric power) are welcome on the water. At these meetings no one class of boats has right of way over another, but Club 500 speedboats are encouraged to run towards the end of the day.

On the third Saturday of every month there will be sailing races to allow skippers to tune up for the Championship regatta on the Sunday. On the third Sunday of every month a regatta is held for the GMBC Sailing Championships.

Apart from the last Sunday every month, which is Open Day, every other Sunday is reserved for sailboat racing. 

On the first Sunday of every month the sailors are invited to race at the Rusty Hook restaurant in Wilge Rd, Honeydew. 

There is also 'Whacky Wednesday' casual sailboat racing each Wednesday afternoon at Emmarentia.

All fixtures take place at Emmarentia Dam unless otherwise stated.

Gauteng Model Boat Club Calendar - 2018/19
Date Meeting
Sun 04 Nov Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat 10 Nov Sailing tune-up races
Sun 11 Nov 2018 GMBC Sailing Championships - Round 11
Because of a date clash with the 94.7 Cycle Race and its extensive road closures, the eleventh and final round of the 2018 GMBC Sailing Championship, The Bruce Tandy Memorial Regatta, has been moved to Sunday 11 November at Emmarentia Dam.
Sun 18 Nov 94.7 Cycle Challenge - Extensive road closures around Johannesburg.
Sun 25 Nov Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing after the reagatta has finished.
Sun 02 Dec Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat 08 Dec Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun 09 Dec Sailboat racing
Sat 15 Dec Sailboat racing
Mon 17 Dec Public Holiday (Day of Reconciliation)
Tue 25 Dec Christmas Day
Wed 26 Dec Boxing Day
Sat, 5 Jan '19
Sun, 6 Jan '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 12 Jan '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 13 Jan '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 19 Jan '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 20 Jan '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 1
Sat, 26 Jan '19
Sun, 27 Jan '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 2 Feb '19
Sun, 3 Feb '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 9 Feb '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 10 Feb '19 Sailboat racing at NRSC Wemmer Pan
Sat, 16 Feb '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 17 Feb '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 2
Sat, 23 Feb '19
Sun, 24 Feb '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 2 Mar '19
Sun, 3 Mar '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 9 Mar '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 10 Mar '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 16 Mar '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 17 Mar '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 3
Thu, 21 Mar '19 Human Rights Day
Sat, 23 Mar '19
Sun, 24 Mar '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 30 Mar '19
Sun, 31 Mar '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 6 Apr '19
Sun, 7 Apr '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 13 Apr '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 14 Apr '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing. Sailboat racing at NRSC Wemmer Pan.
Fri, 19 Apr '19 Good Friday
Sat, 20 Apr '19
Sun, 21 Apr '19
Mon, 22 Apr '19 Easter Monday
Sat, 27 Apr '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 28 Apr '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 4
Wed, 1 May '19 Workers' Day
Sat, 4 May '19
Sun, 5 May '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia. IOM Eastern Transvaal Provincial Championships (not a GMBC event)
Sat, 11 May '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 12 May '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 18 May '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 19 May '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 5
Sat, 25 May '19
Sun, 26 May '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 1 Jun '19
Sun, 2 Jun '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 8 Jun '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 9 Jun '19 Sailboat racing at NRSC Wemmer Pan
Sat, 15 Jun '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 16 Jun '19 Youth Day
Sun, 16 Jun '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 6
Sat, 22 Jun '19
Sun, 23 Jun '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 29 Jun '19
Sun, 30 Jun '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 6 Jul '19 IOM Provincials (not a GMBC event)
Sun, 7 Jul '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia. IOM Gauteng Provincial Championships (not a GMBC event)
Sat, 13 Jul '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 14 Jul '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 20 Jul '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 21 Jul '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 7
Sat, 27 Jul '19
Sun, 28 Jul '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 3 Aug '19
Sun, 4 Aug '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Fri, 9 Aug '19 Womens' Day
Sat, 10 Aug '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 11 Aug '19 Sailboat racing at NRSC Wemmer Pan
Sat, 17 Aug '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 18 Aug '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 8
Sat, 24 Aug '19
Sun, 25 Aug '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 31 Aug '19
Sun, 1 Sep '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 7 Sep '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 8 Sep '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 14 Sep '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 15 Sep '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 9
Sat, 21 Sep '19 IOM National Championships (not a GMBC event)
Sun, 22 Sep '19 IOM National Championships (not a GMBC event)
Mon, 23 Sep '19 IOM National Championships (not a GMBC event)
Tue, 24 Sep '19 Heritage Day. IOM National Championships (not a GMBC event)
Sat, 28 Sep '19
Sun, 29 Sep '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 5 Oct '19
Sun, 6 Oct '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 12 Oct '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 13 Oct '19 Sailboat racing at NRSC Wemmer Pan
Sat, 19 Oct '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 20 Oct '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 10
Sat, 26 Oct '19
Sun, 27 Oct '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 2 Nov '19
Sun, 3 Nov '19 NRSC Invitation Event - two one-hour endurance races.
Sat, 9 Nov '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 10 Nov '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 16 Nov '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 17 Nov '19 GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 11 - Final
Sat, 23 Nov '19
Sun, 24 Nov '19 Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 30 Nov '19
Sun, 1 Dec '19 Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 7 Dec '19
Sun, 8 Dec '19 Sailboat racing at NRSC Wemmer Pan
Sat, 14 Dec '19 Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 15 Dec '19 Sailboat racing
Mon, 16 Dec '19 Day of Reconciliation
Sat, 21 Dec '19 Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 22 Dec '19 Sailboat racing
Sat, 25 Dec '19 Christmas Day
Thu, 26 Dec '19 Boxing Day
Sat, 28 Dec '19
Sun, 29 Dec '19 Sailboat racing
Wed, 1 Jan '20 New Year's Day

 

 

Home | Latest News | About Us | Join GMBC | Calendar | Gallery | Members' Boats | Sail Boat Racing
Model Boats for Sale | Our Origins | Hints & Tips | Membership Application | Links | Special Thanks | Contact Us

All images on this site are copyrighted by their respective authors who retain their intellectual property rights in full. You are not permitted to copy, store, publish or use in any manner, for any purpose whatsoever, via any medium, any picture displayed on this web site.