Calendar

The Gauteng Model Boat Club meets at Emmarentia Dam, Johannesburg, near the parking area for the Johannesburg Botanical Gardens. Occasionally the sailors meet at other venues and this is announced to members on the GMBC WhatsApp group.

The second Saturday and last Sunday of every month are the primary club days where all members and all boats (sail, scale and electric power) are welcome on the water. At these meetings no one class of boats has right of way over another, but Club 500 speedboats are encouraged to run towards the end of the day.

On the third Saturday of every month there will be sailing races to allow skippers to tune up for the Championship regatta on the Sunday. On the third Sunday of every month a regatta is held for the GMBC Sailing Championships.

Apart from the last Sunday every month, which is Open Day, every other Sunday is reserved for sailboat racing. 

On the first Sunday of every month the sailors are generally invited to race at the Rusty Hook restaurant in Wilge Rd, Honeydew. 

There is also 'Whacky Wednesday' casual sailboat racing each Wednesday afternoon at Emmarentia.

All fixtures take place at Emmarentia Dam unless otherwise stated.

  Gauteng Model Boat Club Calendar - 2019
Date Meeting
Sat, 16 Mar  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 17 Mar  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 3
Thu, 21 Mar  Human Rights Day
Sat, 23 Mar   
Sun, 24 Mar  Sailboat racing
Sat, 30 Mar   
Sun, 31 Mar  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Interclub sailboat racing for all classes at NRSC Wemmer Pan.*
Sat, 6 Apr   
Sun, 7 Apr  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 13 Apr  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 14 Apr  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
IOM Provincial Championships at NRSC Wemmer Pan.*
Fri, 19 Apr  Good Friday
Sat, 20 Apr   
Sun, 21 Apr   
Mon, 22 Apr  Easter Monday
Sat, 27 Apr  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 28 Apr  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 4
Wed, 1 May  Workers' Day
Sat, 4 May   
Sun, 5 May  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 11 May  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing at Emmarentia.
Provincial regatta at Witbank Yacht and Aquatic Club (WYAC) for all classes up to 1-metre. Get more details here.*
Sun, 12 May  Sailboat racing at Emmarentia
Provincial regatta at Witbank Yacht and Aquatic Club (WYAC) for all classes up to 1-metre. Get more details here.*
Sat, 18 May  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 19 May  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 5
Sat, 25 May   
Sun, 26 May  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 1 Jun   
Sun, 2 Jun  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 8 Jun  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 9 Jun  Sailboat racing.
IOM E Tvl Championships at Wemmer Pan *
Sat, 15 Jun  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 16 Jun  Youth Day
Sun, 16 Jun  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 6
Sat, 22 Jun   
Sun, 23 Jun  Sailboat racing
Sat, 29 Jun   
Sun, 30 Jun  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Interclub sailboat racing for all classes at NRSC at Centurion *
Sat, 6 Jul    
Sun, 7 Jul  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 13 Jul  IOM KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Championships at Midmar *
Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 14 Jul  IOM KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Championships at Midmar*
Sailboat racing
Sat, 20 Jul  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 21 Jul  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 7
Sat, 27 Jul   
Sun, 28 Jul  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 3 Aug   
Sun, 4 Aug  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Fri, 9 Aug  Women's' Day
Sat, 10 Aug  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 11 Aug  IOM ERMBC Wemmer Pan *
Sat, 17 Aug  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 18 Aug  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 8
Sat, 24 Aug   
Sun, 25 Aug  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Interclub sailboat racing for all classes at NRSC Wemmer Pan.*
Sat, 31 Aug   
Sun, 1 Sep  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 7 Sep  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 8 Sep  Sailboat racing
Sat, 14 Sep  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 15 Sep  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 9
Sat, 21 Sep  IOM National Championships - Venue TBA*
Sun, 22 Sep  IOM National Championships - Venue TBA*
Mon, 23 Sep  IOM National Championships - Venue TBA*
Tue, 24 Sep  Heritage Day. IOM National Championships (not a GMBC event)
Sat, 28 Sep   
Sun, 29 Sep  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sat, 5 Oct   
Sun, 6 Oct  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 12 Oct  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 13 Oct  Sailboat racing.
IOM Provincial Championships at NRSC Wemmer Pan *
Sat, 19 Oct  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 20 Oct  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 10
Sat, 26 Oct   
Sun, 27 Oct  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Interclub sailboat racing for all classes at NRSC Centurion *
Sat, 2 Nov   
Sun, 3 Nov  NRSC Invitation Event - two one-hour endurance races.
Sat, 9 Nov  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 10 Nov  Sailboat racing
Sat, 16 Nov  Sailing tune-up races
Sun, 17 Nov  GMBC Sailing Competition - Round 11 - Final
Sat, 23 Nov   
Sun, 24 Nov  Open Day - Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
IOM 2x 1-hour races at NRSC Wemmer Pan *
Sat, 30 Nov   
Sun, 1 Dec  Sailing at Rusty Hook. All categories at Emmarentia.
Sat, 7 Dec   
Sun, 8 Dec   
Sat, 14 Dec  Club 500 speedboat racing, scale boats, steerage competitions and open sailing.
Sun, 15 Dec  Sailboat racing
Mon, 16 Dec  Day of Reconciliation
Sat, 21 Dec   
Sun, 22 Dec   
Sat, 25 Dec  Christmas Day
Thu, 26 Dec  Boxing Day
Sat, 28 Dec   
Sun, 29 Dec   
Wed, 1 Jan '20 New Year's Day
  * = This event is not organised by GMBC.

 

Home | Latest News | About Us | Join GMBC | Calendar | Gallery | Members' Boats | Sail Boat Racing
Model Boats for Sale | Our Origins | Hints & Tips | Membership Application | Links | Special Thanks | Contact Us

All images on this site are copyrighted by their respective authors who retain their intellectual property rights in full. You are not permitted to copy, store, publish or use in any manner, for any purpose whatsoever, via any medium, any picture displayed on this web site.